This past year, 22 Boy Scouts from the Lakeway Area were honored as Eagle Scouts, the highest honor a Boy Scout can earn.

In order to earn the rank of Eagle Scout, a scout must have been a Life Scout for at least six months, has earned a minimum of 21 merit badges, has demonstrated Scout Spirit by living the Scout Oath and Scout Law and has demonstrated leadership within their troop. All candidates must complete a board of review before receiving Eagle Scout.

The following Boy Scouts from the Lakeway Area were honored by the Great Smoky Mountain Council (Claiborne, Cocke, Hamblen, and Jefferson counties), the Cumberland Council (Grainger County) and the Sequoyah Council (Hawkins County):


Troop 508: Ridge-Hunter Sams is the son of Mark and Amy Sams.


Troop 91: Cameron Scott Brown, is the son of Kim Brown; Blake Adam Melton, is the son of Larry and Jennifer Melton; Jacob Cole Hannah, is the son of Rhonda Hannah; Lance Crewe Davenport, is the son of Shannon Davenport; Alexander Paul Ingram, is the son of Barbara Ingram, Kyle Douglas Moshier, is the son of Scott Moshier.

Troop 192: Robert Joseph Peruzzini, is the son of Ronda Burdick; William Thomas Andrew Woelki, is the son of Lothar Woelki.

Troop 290: Payton Ryan Shaver, is the son of Dwayne and Debbie Shaver.

Troop 295: Brady Dallas McAuley, is the son of Sabrina McAuley; Dakota Michael Robbins, is the son of Rob Robbins.


Troop 77: James Joshua Horton, is the son of Jack Horton; Benjamin H.K. Bolinsky, is the son of Bryan Bolinsky; Graham Clay Hicks, is the son of Joshua Hicks.


Troop 369: Gabriel John Joseph Vaughn, is the son of Jennifer and Virgil Vaughn.


Troop 100: Zachery Phillip Walker, is the son of Kevin Walker. Zachery built two seating benches and an informational board at Herald’s Bee Garden in Rogersville. He completed 151 hours on his Eagle Project.

Isaiah Scott Carroll, is the son of Richard Carroll. Isaiah spent 165 hours rebuilding the playground at Faith Assembly Church in Rogersville.

Giovanni Dominic Bonanno, is the son of Ace and Sharon Ely. Giovanni spent 501 hours constructing a fenced-in playground covered with pea gravel and constructed two playground sets for Crossroads Assembly of God Church in Rogersville.

Troop 151: Noah Robert Grevelle, is the son of Angela Grevelle. Noah used 73 hours to repair and refurbish picnic tables at Laurel Run Park, a Hawkins County owned park in Church Hill.

Troop 198: Mitchell Kyle Young, is the son of John and Lana Young. Mitchell used 195 hours to install a gravel walkway connecting the cabins to the main pavilion of Camp Hope in Church Hill.

Troop 240: Jeffrey Heath Douthat, is the son of Jeff and Linda Douthat. Jeffrey used 236 hours to construct a new and larger stage for the praise band, with a step to provide a place for youth to kneel and pray at First Baptist Church in Church Hill.

Troop 253: Michael Andrew Davis, is the son of Anthony and Mary Ann Davis. Michael spent 95 hours building four buddy benches at Carters Valley Elementary School in Church Hill to be placed on the school’s playground.

Special thanks to the Great Smoky Mountain, Sequoyah and Cumberland Councils for their assistance.