The Aug. 6 Hamblen County election will be decided in the March 3 Republican Party Primary. No Democratic Party candidate qualified to run by the deadline, noon on Thursday, according to Jeff Gardner, Hamblen County administrator of elections.

The March 3 party primary will coincide with the presidential primary. Early voting begins on Feb. 12. The winners will take office on Sept. 1.

Hamblen County Road Superintendent Barry Poole and Property Assessor Keith Ely have no opposition. Trustee Scotty Long will have opposition from Jason Darnell.

Mike Reed and Jim Wills will square off in the race for the District 5 Hamblen County Commission seat. Citing health concerns, incumbent Mike Minnich, who was appointed to fill the unexpired term of the late Louis “Doe” Jarvis, opted not to run.

The most highly contested race will be for the District 14 commission seat. Incumbent Eileen Arnwine, who was appointed to fill the unexpired term of Long – after he was appointed trustee – will have opposition from Scott Cutshaw and Edna Green.

The only contested race for the Hamblen County Road Commission is in Districts 13 and 14 where Larry Carter, a former county commissioner, will challenge long-time road commissioner E.C. Long Jr.

Those running unopposed are Tom Hyde, Nina Gail Free, Delbert Nix Jr., G. Wayne Pigmon, Dannie Wayne Bell and Charles Anderson. Road commissioners represent two county commission districts.