Lakeway Area Association of REALTORS swears in new president

Hagan Stone, 2020 president of the Tennessee State Association of REALTORS, left, swears in Greta Clark, second from left, as the 2020 president of the Lakeway Area Association of REALTORS at the organization’s 58th-annual Christmas Party and Installation of Officers event Friday night at The Country Club in Morristown. From left to right, Stone, Clark, husband Jim Clark, 2019 President Kim Roberts and 2017 President Will Sliger, who was also named Realtor of the Year and earned the President’s Award for the second time at the event.

The Lakeway Area Association of REALTORS honored the best of their own Friday night at its annual Christmas party and installation at The Country Club in Morristown.

While enjoying the holiday festivities, the LAAR swore in a new president for 2020.

Hagan Stone, president of the Tennessee State Association of REALTORS, read the oath to Greta Clark of Castle & Associates Real Estate in Morristown.

“I have really big shoes to fill,” Clark said. “We’ve had a lot of positive growth this year, and we’re going in a positive direction.”

The gavel was passed to her in a line from past presidents to consummate her inauguration, and Stone said she now carries the traditions and responsibilities descended from six decades of preceding leaders.

“It is the office of president for which the association is often judged,” he said. “Your role places you in a great responsibility as the chief associate for the area, as well as the state and national levels.”

Clark outlined many of her plans for the next year, saying she plans to visit member agents throughout the Lakeway Area for one-on-one meetings during the period.

She also said she encourages and expects the membership to bring new ideas that could make the association stronger.

“Plant your seeds with us – and let your ideas grow with us,” said Clark, who earned her real estate license in 1999.

Will Sliger of LeBel Commercial Realty in Morristown was named Realtor of the Year for 2019, as well as receiving the President’s Award for the second time.

“(The Realtor of the Year award) was a team effort. All of us earned this award,” said Sliger, who earned his first President’s Award in 2017. “I’m at a loss for words (on winning the President’s Award again).”

In addition to Clark, the new members of the LAAR board of directors were installed during the event.

Gary Roberts of Crye-Leike Lakeway in Morristown will serve as the new vice-president, and Paul LeBel of LeBel Commercial in Morristown was named secretary/treasurer.

Kim Roberts, who is the 2019 president of the LAAR, will serve as the chairman of the board. Don Fabrikant of Country Living Realty in Parrottsville, Greg Hurst of Hurst Real Estate & Auction in Morristown, Rhonda Sams of RE/MAX Real Estate Ten in Morristown, Seth Voelker of Jackson Real Estate in Jefferson City and Jess Weston of Reichert Realtors in Morristown were installed as directors.

“Our biggest goal is to get closer to our realtors,” Stone said. “The feeling of community is really important to us heading into 2020.

“You have great leadership here at the Lakeway Area Association of REALTORS, and I’m happy to have addressed you all tonight.”

2017 LAAR Realtor of Year Travis Earls presented the association’s first-ever Lifetime Achievement Award to Monty Sams. Sams began his career in 1973 with Bill Jones Realty, and has been a part of the RE/MAX family since 1986.

Sams is a former chairman of the LAAR board of directors and earned the Realtor of the Year Award in 1993. Earls called his mentor a “needle mover who’s helped a lot of people for a long time,” and accomplished it without fanfare nor self-aggrandizing.

“He’s not a person who brags about what he’s done,” Earls said. “In fact, (Sams) said he would want his wife Susan to share in the award because she’s been his right arm from the beginning.”