ETSU students assisting with COVID-19 vaccines

Driven by a commitment to improve healthcare in rural and distressed areas of Tennessee, Amerigroup Tennessee has created a new scholarship opportunity at East Tennessee State University’s College of Nursing.

Applications are currently being accepted for the Amerigroup Rural Medicine Scholarship, which will be awarded in the fall of 2021 to three students in ETSU’s Master of Science in Nursing-Family Nurse Practitioner concentration. Valued at $52,000 per student, the scholarship will cover all tuition and fees.

Recipients of the scholarship will agree that upon graduation, they will aim to fulfill a nurse practitioner position that allows them to serve in a distressed county in Tennessee for at least three years.

Each year, the Appalachian Regional Commission prepares an index of county economic status for every county in the United States, measuring them based on average unemployment rate, per capita market income and poverty rate. Currently, Tennessee has 11 distressed counties, including Lake, Lauderdale, Hardeman, Perry, Wayne, Clay, Grundy, Bledsoe, Scott, Hancock and Cocke.

Thousands of rural Tennesseans receive care in a less timely fashion than their urban counterparts, lack access to locally available healthcare services and even face long distance travel to reach a hospital or to access medical specialty care. In response, Amerigroup Tennessee and the ETSU College of Nursing have joined forces to help care for patients residing in rural areas where services and resources may be limited. Amerigroup’s investment will create primary care access for approximately 3,750 Medicaid members per year.

More information about how to apply for the Amerigroup Rural Medicine Scholarship is available at