Rose  Center recognizes young  artists

For the eighth year in a row, Rose Center Council for the Arts recognized young talent in the Lakeway Area with the 2021 Bravo Awards.

This year, there were a total of 26 finalists in visual and performing art.

The finalists were commemorated at the awards banquet and public performance on Feb. 25th at Rose Center’s Prater Hall.

The Bravo Awards were open to students in grades 10-12 in Claiborne, Cocke, Grainger, Hamblen, Hancock and Jefferson counties, and to enter they submitted two pieces in visual or performance art.

Visual art could include painting, drawing, or sculpting and performing art could include music, dance or spoken word.

To be considered as a finalist, students had to submit an essay with their application describing their relationship to the arts and what it means to them, in addition to a letter of recommendation from a teacher or mentor.

Rose Center’s Artists Advisory Council worked hard to organize and implement the Bravo Awards into the success it was.

Members include Peggy Brewer, Chair, and Liz Michael, Dan Gibson, Robert Spirko, Carol Rouse and Vicki Kinser.

Sponsors for the Bravo Awards include Walmart, Walters State Community College, HC*Excell, the Dr. John H. and Betty Kinser family, Visions by Vicki and the GFWC Ladies Reading Circle. Desserts were provided by Rich’s Products and the Morristown East High cafeteria staff.

Of all the finalists, 24 were selected for the visual arts, and 2 for performing arts. The two performing arts finalists were invited to perform their pieces at the banquet, in addition to last year’s 1st place winner in performing arts, Sadie Johnson. Stan Harville, Executive Director of HC*Excell, was the guest speaker. 1st, 2nd and 3rd place prizes were awarded in each category. This year, there was a 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winner in the Essay category as well.

This year, Bravo finalists came from Morristown East and West High Jefferson County High, and Cocke County High. In the visual arts category, 1st place was awarded to Emma Woody of Jefferson Co. High, 2nd place Meici Payne of Jefferson Co. High and 3rd place to Kerra Lovell of Jefferson Co. High.

1st place in performance art was awarded to Hailie Brickey of Cocke Co. High, and 2nd place to Kathleen Woody of Morristown East High.

1st place essay was awarded to Issac Jones of Jefferson Co. High, 2nd place to Christa Brown of Morristown East High and 3rd place to Jacob Tweed of Jefferson Co. High.

The 2021 Bravos was a successful year with many talented applicants. The evening was a display of the creativity of students with their artwork adorning the walls and performing their pieces to the proud families. All of these bright students are a reflection of the talent and brilliance that lives in the Lakeway Area.