Citizen Tribune

Follow Us On:

LMU professor named a distinguished fellow by AOCOPM

Posted on Monday, February 25, 2013 at 1:05 pm

            Share on Tumblr

Lincoln Memorial professor Dr. Howard S. Teitelbaum was recently named a distinguished fellow of the American Osteopathic College of Occupational and Preventive Medicine.

 Teitelbaum is a professor of preventive medicine at Lincoln Memorial U n ive r s i t y – DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine in Harrogate.

 Teitelbaum has served as chair of several AOCOPM committees, as well as its vice president and president.

 The professor received a AOCOPM fellowship award in 1992.

 He also helped design the AOCOPM basic course in occupational and preventive medicine and has presented sessions on the subject for more than 15 consecutive years.

 His presentations have been recorded for college members’ to use as a source of continuing education.

 He was selected to give the W. Kenneth Riland Memorial Lecture in 1995, which is a key feature at the annual mid-year AOCOPM conference.

 Teitelbaum was also selected to give the Murray Goldstein Commemorative Lecture, which is given at the AOCOPM spring convention, in 1992 and 2013.

 Teitelbaum is currently the vice chair of the American Osteopathic Board of Preventive Medicine and chair of the examination committee, which is responsible for the development and administration of board certification examinations in aerospace medicine, preventive medicine and occupational medicine.

 He was also appointed to the rank of professor of the AOCOPM, which is accorded to those who have demonstrated continuous quality lectures to the AOCOPM for at least ten years.

 Teitelbaum has received numerous awards during his career as a medical educator, including the Clinical Professor of the Year award from LMU-DCOM students for four consecutive years and LMU’s Houston Award for Teaching Excellence in 2010.

 In 1995 he was selected for the American Osteopathic Association’s Mentor Hall of Fame and received the George W. Northup Educator of the Year Award from the national Student Osteopathic Medical Association in 2011.