Citizen Tribune

Follow Us On:

Hawkins County announces 2013 Teachers of the Year

Posted on Monday, April 29, 2013 at 10:13 am

            Share on Tumblr

 Hawkins County Schools recently recognized its Teacher of the Year candidates from each school with a banquet.

 Those honored include kindergarten through fourth-grade teachers Vickie Dyer of Bulls Gap School, Amiee Ellis of Carter’s Valley Elementary, Rebecca Rollins of Church Hill Elementary, Linda Henard of Hawkins Elementary.

 Those honored in that grade level include Margaret Palko of Joseph Rogers Primary, Melanie Hammond of Keplar Elementary, Mollie Bolton of McPheeter’s Bend Elementary, Jennifer Simerly of Mooresburg Elementary, Naomi Mowell of Mt. Carmel Elementary, Christina Price of St. Clair Elementary and Amanda Smith of Surgoinsville Elementary.

 Teachers from fifththrough eighth-grades honored were Jenifer Colorio of Church Hill Intermediate, Ginger Little of Church Hill Middle, Ashley Jones of Clinch School, Nicky Ward of Rogersville Middle and Richard McFarland of Surgoinsville Middle.

 Teachers honored for ninth- through 12th – grades include Stephanie M. Smith of Cherokee High School, Robert G. Dickenson of Cherokee High School, Kevin M. Porter of Volunteer High School and Jackie Strickler of Volunteer High School.

 The three division winners were Amanda Smith for kindergarten through fourth-grades, Ginger Little for fifththrough eighth-grades and Stephanie Goins Smith for ninth- through 12th -grades.