Hamblen Co. Guidebook » Education

Hamblen County Douglas-Cherokee Economic Authority

Posted on September 11, 2012 at 10:22 am

Douglas-Cherokee Economic Authority Inc. is a community action agency serving six rural Appalachian counties inEast Tennessee— Cocke, Grainger, Hamblen, Jefferson, Monroe and Sevier. The purpose of the agency is to help families living in poverty to improve their lives by giving them assistance and services they are not able to provide for themselves. The agency’s focus is to help people help themselves. Programs include housing, education, health and job development.

Read Full Story

Education » Older Stories

  • Contacting Hamblen County Schools

    Posted on September 11, 2012 at 10:20 am

    Hamblen County Schools has some of the highest numbers of students in the state. The district has 21 schools—three primary schools, 11 elementary schools, four middle schools, two high schools and one alternative school. The schools’ administrators and telephone numbers are: Alpha Elementary School Principal Kimberly Dyke Assistant Principal Jim Patrick Primary Campus 423-581-3440 Intermediate Campus 423-586-3332 Fairview-Marguerite Elementary School Principal Suzanne Wampler 423-586-4098 Hillcrest Elementary School Principal Martha Kelly

    Read Full Story
  • Meet the Hamblen County School Board

    Posted on September 11, 2012 at 10:16 am

    The Hamblen County Board of Education consists of seven members — Dr. Joe Gibson Jr., Roger Greene, Jim Grigsby, Janice Haun, Carolyn Holt and Clyde Kinder. The seventh member, vice chair Charles Cross died in an auto accident in late August 2011. Board members are elected for four year terms and are responsible for setting educational and discipline policy for the school system, approving the district budget, making purchasing decisions

    Read Full Story
  • Hamblen County Schools Administrative Support Staff

    Posted on September 11, 2012 at 10:15 am

    Parents are encouraged to consult their children’s teachers and school staff regarding any concerns they have; however, if larger needs surface, contact the Hamblen County Department of Education’s administrative support staff. These school leaders are organized to assist the schools through various departments. Hamblen County School’s Central Office is located at 210 E. Morris Blvd. in Morristown. Dale Lynch, Ed.D., is the director of schools. He can be reached at

    Read Full Story
  • WSCC Leadership: Helping the careers of students

    Posted on September 11, 2012 at 10:13 am

    Walters State Community College is continuing its tradition of academic excellence. The institution serves 10 counties, including Claiborne, Cocke, Grainger, Greene, Hamblen, Hancock, Hawkins, Jefferson, Sevier and Union counties, and it offers associate’s and technical degrees. The school’s leadership, headed by Wade B. McCamey, Ph.D., works to ensure the college’s almost 7,000 students get the direction and support they need from all units of WSCC. McCamey is president of WSCC.

    Read Full Story
  • Tennessee Technology Center of Morristown

    Posted on September 11, 2012 at 10:12 am

    Tennessee Technology Center of Morristown is one of 27 technology centers across the state. The school strives to train its students for entry-level employment in business and industry—TTC-M provides competency-based training, designed to be economical and accessible to all residents. Lynn Elkins has been the director of Tennessee Technology Center at Morristown for 21 years. She is responsible for management of all functions of the school, including Morristown’s main campus,

    Read Full Story

Headlines of the Day