Your News » Education

(Pictured L to R): Akeyla Madison, Rev. Dr. C.H. Charlton, Addison Adams, Tatyana Pippins, Erin Roper, Jasmine Bryant, Samuel Chepkouga and Rev. Lester D. Lattany-Vice-Moderator from New Jerusalem Baptist Church in Johnson City

Bethel District Baptist Missionary & Education Association selects 2014 J. Bratton Gaines Scholarship recipients

Posted on August 4, 2014 at 9:39 am

ELIZABETHTON, TN – The scholarship committee of the Bethel District Baptist Missionary & Education Association chaired by Mrs. Betty A. McFarland announced its 2014 J. Bratton Gaines Scholarship recipients. Bethel Missionary Baptist Church Tatyana Pippins of Morristown, TN; Morristown-East HS (Tennessee State University) Erin Roper of Morristown, TN; Morristown-East HS (Walters State Community College) Friendship Baptist Church Akeyla Madison of Johnson City, TN; Science Hill HS (University of Tennessee at

Read Full Story

Education » Older Stories

  • Morristown East’s Cuberson selected for summer apprenticeship

    Posted on April 11, 2014 at 6:25 am

    MORRISTOWN, TN – Tennessee State University’s College of Agriculture, Human and Natural Sciences has named Dayon Cuberson as the recipient of the Summer Apprenticeship Program in Agribusiness. A future Business major with a concentration in Business Administration, Cuberson will begin his apprenticeship in June 2014. Cuberson was selected from among a slate of candidates submitted to the university by high schools across the nation. The candidates had to demonstrate a

    Read Full Story
  • 4-H State Congress

    Posted on April 8, 2014 at 6:32 am

    The 67th Annual Tennessee 4-H State Congress was held March 30-April 2 at the Sheraton Nashville Downtown. The Congress is open to delegates in the 9th and 10th grade who participate in mock government procedures. In addition, regional winners from the state of Tennessee in grades 9-12 for public speaking and 4-H portfolios in leadership and citizenship attended the event as state finalists. Alyssa Reed, a senior at Grainger High

    Read Full Story
  • Milligan Students Head to Capitol Hill

    Posted on March 14, 2014 at 9:28 am

    As the old saying goes, “change begins with you”. When Governor Haslam announced his new legislation entitled “The Tennessee Promise”, local Milligan College students felt the need to take action. Logan Foshie of Whitesburg, Louisa “Lucy” Gaudiano of Johnson City, and Ruth Aramburu of Kingsport met with Milligan’s President, Dr. Bill Greer, and hit the road for Capitol Hill. Throughout the day, they met with Speaker of the House Beth

    Read Full Story
  • Local student named to Milligan College dean’s list

    Posted on January 29, 2014 at 9:11 am

    Milligan College, Tenn. (Jan. 27, 2014) — Milligan College named local student Niki Wolfe of Whitesburg to the academic dean’s list for the fall 2013 semester. Wolfe is a senior majoring in early childhood education. The dean’s list recognizes students who earn a grade point average of 3.5 or above for the academic term. Located in Northeast Tennessee, Milligan is a nationally recognized Christian liberal arts college that offers more

    Read Full Story
  • Student with Local Ties Chosen as International Ambassador

    Posted on December 23, 2013 at 10:53 am

    Madelyn “Mimi” Pemberton, a seventh grader at Galax Middle School in Galax, Virginia, was chosen to represent the United States in June 2013 on a trip with People to People Ambassador Programs. This organization was founded by President Dwight D. Eisenhower in 1956 to foster good relations between countries by using youth ambassadors. She was part of a delegation comprised of youth from the Winston-Salem and Greensboro, North Carolina areas.

    Read Full Story
  • Carson-Newman names new members to Board of Trust

    Posted on December 4, 2013 at 12:27 pm

     Four new members were recently appointed to Carson-Newman University’s Board of Trustees. Harry Brooks, Joan Cronan, Wanda Moore and Ron Oakley will begin their service Jan. 1.  “We are delighted to welcome Harry Brooks, Joan Cronan, Wanda Moore, and Ron Oakley, to Carson-Newman’s Board of Trustees,” said University President Randall O’Brien. “Each is committed to supporting the University’s mission and brings unique gifts to Carson-Newman’s leadership. We are honored to

    Read Full Story

Headlines of the Day