WSCC graduates latest Basic Law Enforcement Academy class

Posted on Tuesday, June 10, 2014 at 12:16 pm


Thomas Jay Whitmer (middle left) received the academic award and Samuel G. Swatzell received the firearms award during Walters State Community College’s Basic Law Enforcement Academy graduation in June. Both of the graduates are from Morristown. With the officers is Cesar Gracia (far left), director, Regional Law Enforcement Academy and Roger Overholt, Morristown Police Department chief.

Twenty-nine officers are eligible to join the rosters of law enforcement agencies with the recent graduation of the latest Basic Law Enforcement Academy class at Walters State Community College.

The Basic Law Enforcement Academy, held at the college’s Greeneville/Greene County Campus, offers the eight-week training required of all new law enforcement recruits during their first year of employment.

The program is part of the East Tennessee Regional Law Enforcement Academy established at Walters State by the Peace Officers Standards and Training Commission. It is also part of the college’s Public Safety Center of Emphasis, a designation recognizing its outstanding record in career preparation.

The speaker for the graduation exercises, which were held June 6, was David Quillin, chief of the Kingsport Police Department.

Award Winners for the class included Thomas J. Whitmer of Morristown, academic award; Terrance S. Chambers of Oneida, defensive and tactical driving award, Ryan P. Fletcher of Lafollette, Tennessee Sheriffs’ Association award; Kenneth J. Williams of Rogersville, defensive tactics award; Samuel G. Swatzell of Morristown, firearms award; David C. Garland of Maryville, outstanding student award; Randolph E. Puskas II, of Dover, leadership award; Brandon L. Stewart of Kingsport, best athlete award, Cody Bussell of Harrogate, Charles Edward Baskette Memorial award for courage and determination and Jamal Phelps of Kingsport, Tennessee Association of Chiefs of Police award.

Officers for the class included Jacob Hutton of Johnson City, president and Todd Pait of Pleasant View, executive officer.

The complete list of graduates, their hometown and affiliate organization of the WSCC Police Academy include:

David Garland of Maryville, WSCC student,

Jeremy Elliott of Jellico, Lafollette Police Dept.

Ryan Fletcher of Lafollette, Campbell County Sheriff’s Office

Todd Pait of Pleasant View, WSCC Student

Alan Powers of Cumberland Gap, Lincoln-Memorial University

Cody Bussell of Harrogate, WSCC student

James Brooks of Crossville, WSCC student

Bobby Anderson of Smithville, WSCC student

Dakota Orrick of Bean Station, WSCC student

Lucas Jarnigan of Rutledge, WSCC student

Heath Good of Morristown, Morristown Police Dept.

Samuel Swatzell of Morristown, Morristown Police Dept.

Thomas Whitmer of Morristown, Morristown Police Dept.

Kenneth Williams of Rogersville, WSCC student

Jacob Reneau of Dandridge, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Dept.

Jessica Bryant of Talbott, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Dept.

James Fox of Knoxville, WSCC student

Kirk Storey of Union City, Union City Police Dept.

Brandon Sanders of Smyrna, WSCC student

Darcy Phillips of Helenwood, Scott County Sheriff’s Office

Terrance Chambers of Oneida, Scott County Sheriff’s Office

Derek Schmalenberger of Sevierville, WSCC student

Randolph Puskas II of Dover, WSCC student

Jamal Phelps of Kingsport, Kingsport Police Dept.

Brandon Stewart of Kingsport, Kingsport Police Dept.

Christopher Hall of Gray, Washington County Sheriff’s Dept.

Artavan Hart of Johnson City, Washington County Sheriff’s Dept.

Jacob Hutton of Johnson City, Kingsport Police Dept.

Justin Johnson of Johnson City, WSCC student

-From Contributed Reports

Headlines of the Day