Tennessee, Florida hospital associations receive awards

Posted on Saturday, September 7, 2013 at 7:56 pm

The Tennessee and Florida hospital associations are the 2013 recipients of the Dick Davidson Quality Milestone Award for Allied Association Leadership for their work to improve health care quality, the American Hospital Association recently announced.

The award, given to state, regional or metropolitan hospital associations that demonstrate leadership and innovation in quality improvement and contribute to national health care improvement efforts, was presented July 25 at the 2013 Health Forum-AHA Leadership Summit in San Diego.

“Hospital associations play a critical role in leading quality and patient safety efforts in their own states,” said Rich Umbdenstock, AHA President and CEO. “The efforts of the FHA and THA also serve as a model of successful quality leadership for hospital associations across the country.”

The THA identified three major areas of focus for the association: quality and safety, physician alignment and efficiency. The commitment to patient safety and quality led to the launch of the Tennessee Center for Patient Safety in 2007. The 126 hospitals actively participating represent more than 90 percent of all Tennessee hospital admissions. The TCPS encourages Tennessee hospitals to adopt proven strategies that enhance the reliability, safety and quality of care received by patients. Successful initiatives include working toward a strategic board aim of zero preventable harm, reducing health care-associated infections, decreasing early elective deliveries before 39 weeks and the Tennessee Surgical Quality Collaborative to improve surgical outcomes.

The EED project launched in Tennessee was part of the Hospital Engagement Network funded by Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services and its Center for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation. The program was so successful that the THA board endorsed expanding the project to all hospitals in Tennessee with obstetrical services. Participating hospitals had significant reductions of early EEDs, decreasing from a baseline 15 percent in May 2012 to 6 percent in November 2012. The number of EEDs decreased from 71 in baseline May 2012 to 17 in November 2012.

Ten Tennessee hospitals take part in the TSQ surgical quality collaborative. They share surgical process and outcomes data to improve patient surgical outcomes, using the American College of Surgeons National Surgical Quality Improvement Program. TSQ was the first NSQIP state initiative coordinated and led by a state hospital association and has proven very successful in aligning surgeons and hospitals to work corroboratively to improve surgical care.

“Serving as chair of the Dick Davidson Quality Milestone Award Committee for the past two years, I have seen the overall quality of the program initiatives and outcomes dramatically improve. This year’s winners, FHA and THA, stood out among the highly qualified applicants for their vision, innovative approaches and leadership. They have demonstrated a sustained commitment to quality and patient safety, which makes them the ideal candidates to receive the 2013 award,” said Scott A. Duke, Vice President, Regional Operations, Billings Clinic and chair of the AHA Davidson Award Committee.

The award is named for AHA President Emeritus Dick Davidson, who strongly promoted the role of hospital associations in leading quality improvement during his tenure as AHA president and as president of the Maryland Hospital Association. Applications are reviewed by a multi-disciplinary award committee, with the AHA Board of Trustees providing final approval. The committee includes hospital association executives, hospital and health system clinical and operational leaders and a representative from a national, non-AHA organization involved in quality and performance improvement. Information on the award and how to apply is available on AHA’s website.

- From Contributed Reports

Headlines of the Day